Home Custom Custom Custom
Twin Cities Amazons win the Women’s Competitive bracket

Twin Cities Amazons win the Women’s Competitive bracket

The Women’s Competitive bracket was a proving ground for new talent at the 2010 Lakefront 7s.

Following the seeding round, the only repeat finalist from 2010 was Boomerangs (formerly Chicago North Shore) who took the 4th seed into the knock-out round with a 2-1 record. This was the second consecutive finals qualification for Boomerangs in 3 appearances at the Lakefront 7s.

The 3rd seed was awarded to La Crosse (2-1) who showed an impressive improvement in quality after failing to win a single game in 2010 with 2 sides entering the tournament.

The 1st and second seeds were awarded to the undefeated teams from each bracket, Lakefront 7s newcomers the Twin Cities Amazons (St. Paul, MN) and Wisconsin RFC (Madison, WI).

The semi-finals were clinical encounters with the Amazons and Wisconsin putting up identical 29-0 shut-outs and building anticipation for an electric final.

However, the Amazons continued their cool, effective strategy of a smothering defense combined with a hungry offense. The Amazons pulled ahead early and never looked back, finishing the day with a confident 35-0 victory.

In addition to the Championship hardware, the Amazons take home 4 consecutive matches with perfect defense, a 5-0-0 record, an impressive +127 point differential (PF-PA, 132-5) and the lowest overall points-against in the entire tournament with only a single, unconverted try to tarnish their otherwise perfect record.

Results – Seeding Round (click to enlarge)

Results – Knock-out Round (click to enlarge)


Want more videos? Subscribe on YouTube

Leave a Reply